Did You Know . . .
Fulton County . . .
. . . was named for Robert Fulton who invented the first successful steamboat in 1807.
. . . was part of the lands set aside to be used as payment to veterans of the War of 1812.
. . . was established five years after Illinois became a state in 1823.
. . . extended all of the way to the northern boundary of the state including present day Chicago between 1823 and 1825.
. . . now has a population of 37,069.
By 1837, several families from New Jersey had settled and the town of Utica had been laid out. The name was later changed to Fairview. In 1838, the Fairview Academy was constructed, serving as a church and school. The upper floor of the academy was used as the church until the current Reformed Church building was completed in 1841. Located at the corner of Main and Market Streets, this was the first member church of the Reformed Church of America (est.1628) to be constructed west of the Alleghenies.
Fairview’s City Council governs from their unique octagonal City Hall at the corner of Wilson & Pumyea streets. The nearby Civil War monument dates back to 1868, just shortly after that bloody conflict’s end. Several well-kept older homes can be seen throughout the village. Valley Park District offers baseball and softball fields, pavilion, playground, basketball court, and an outdoor stage. Recently, Mid-Century telephone has added a paved walking path at their new facility just north of the park.
Travel services in Fairview include a café, convenience store, and gasoline. A greenhouse, bank, and library can also be found in town.